Where is 'Johannesburg' ?



There are different interpretations as to which suburbs and municipal areas make up the area called 'Johannesburg'. We don't need to go into all of these, because, from a tourist point of view, the interpretation is much more general. 

However, so as to avoid confusion, we use the following naming conventions, using the municipalities and areas in the maps below: 

  • Johannesburg Metro or simply "Johannesburg": Johannesburg City, the West Rand and the East Rand - now known as Ekurhuleni. Also known by locals as Joburg,  Egoli (City of Gold) or Jozi.
  • Johannesburg City: The official Johannesburg Municipal area, including Sandton, Randburg, Midrand, and the other areas in the Joburg City map below. 
  • Johannesburg "Inner City": The inner city - Area F on the map -  comprising Newtown, Braamfontein, and other suburbs in the old business districts of Johannesburg

Gauteng and Joburg City


We shall use this terminology throughout the My Guide Johannesburg website!